Friday, October 26, 2012

Updated review of The Monster Men, by Edgar Rice Burroughs. Now up at
Jack of ShadowsJack of Shadows by Roger Zelazny

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews
Trucker Ghost Stories: And Other True Tales of Haunted Highways, Weird Encounters, and Legends of the RoadTrucker Ghost Stories: And Other True Tales of Haunted Highways, Weird Encounters, and Legends of the Road by Annie Wilder

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My review of this book can be found on the web site at

View all my reviews

Monday, September 10, 2012

The Monster Men The Monster Men by Edgar Rice Burroughs

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Review of The Monster Men by Edgar Rice Burroughs
Fans of Edgar Rice Burroughs are both legion and loyal, as evidenced by the long lasting popularity of his characters.  Tarzan of course is his most famous character, and John Carter of Mars (and Virginia) was the main character of a recent poorly marketed (but I thought still well done) Disney film.   However Burroughs was an extremely prolific author, who wrote a lot more than just Tarzan and Martian stories.  One of his earliest efforts was this adventure story set in the south Pacific near Borneo.  In many ways it can be considered Burroughs take on both Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and H. G. Wells The Island of Dr. Moreau.  Originally published as “A Man Without a Soul” in 1913 in the Pulp publication  All-Story Magazine, it was later published under the present title as a hardcover book in 1929.
  At the beginning of the story, the reader is introduced to a man who is sadly dismembering corpses and then consigning the body parts to vats of acid.  This is Arthur Maxon, Professor at Cornell, and father of Virginia Maxon, a beautiful young woman who is deeply concerned about her father’s recent strange and distant behavior.  In the first few sentences of the tale, it’s revealed that Maxon had found the secret to the creation of artificial human beings in vats, but that all his creations are monstrously deformed both physically and mentally.  Despairing of succeeding in his attempts at creating the “perfect man” Maxon takes his daughter and lab equipment on a vacation to the East Indies, along with a loyal Chinese cook named Sing Lee, an older but still spry and highly alert retainer.
Virginia thinks the “vacation” will get her father’s mind off of his worries, and help them renew what was a once close relationship, but in Singapore their party is joined by a Dr. Carl von Horn, who Maxon hires as an assistant for his continued work (of which Virginia knows nothing of the details) aimed at the creation of a perfect man, whom he envisions as a the only “fit mate” for his unsuspecting daughter.  Finding a secluded jungle island, Maxon and von Horn set up camp, with a fenced in area for their work.  In fairly typical fashion for Burroughs (as those readers who have read his other works can attest) the action in the story quickly develops as Virginia and the Professor are first menaced by Malay pirates, then Dyak head hunters, and later the first twelve of Maxon’s creations (known only as #!, #2, and so on in order of their creation up through # 12).  In addition to each of these perils, the mysterious Dr. von Horn turns out to not be as trustworthy as the Professor had hoped.  A series of crisis ensues, as Virginian is menaced by each of these dangerous groups in turn, only to be rescued repeatedly by the most recent of the Professor’s creations, the handsome and brave #13, whom Virginia names Jack, but the fearful Dyaks name Bulan. 
The story is perhaps one of the best examples of Burroughs at both his best and his worst.  Burroughs racial prejudices and his overall interest in eugenics permeate the tale, as the Malays and Dyaks are ferocious and treacherous, the Chinese retainer is loyal and wise, but is a caricature of the “good Oriental” archetype, complete with lisp, that appeared in many Pulp stories of the era.  The artificial creatures are presented as soulless and hideous, and the best they can hope for is to either be destroyed or else find some refuge away from humanity, with little sympathy thrown their way, otherwise eliciting only pity or horror and revulsion from the other characters.  There is some moral discussion on the part of #13/Jack/Bulan about what it actually means to have a soul, and how such possession would manifest its self in one’s actions. I also wondered if Burroughs (who was notoriously anti-organized religion in some of his stories) was having some intentional fun with the symbolism of the heroic #13 being followed and assisted by twelve followers, or “disciples” if one preferred, all of whom had the same creator. 
  Still, once the action gets going, it’s fairly exciting stuff, as is usual with Burroughs, however much of the plot relies on coincidence and people wandering into the “right place at the right time” (or wrong place at the wrong time as well) which is also sort of “par for the course” with many of Burroughs works. Also typical of Burroughs is the resolution at the end of the story, which ties up the many loose ends in the story, perhaps in a manner a little too pat for most modern readers.  
After some consideration I gave the story a 3 star ranking.  It is fairly exciting pulp adventure fare, and it does show a different side of Burroughs vast imagination, but the racial stereotypes and the ending are a little too neat for me, even though I still profess a kind of nostalgic love for the story which I first heard about in 1966 and then read about a decade later.  If I were introducing a new reader to Burroughs, I would recommend the Martian trilogy and Tarzan of the Apes, along with underrated western “The War Chief” before I could recommend this one, and that would be simply for the fan that is desirous of sampling the complete Burroughs oeuvre.

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 9, 2012

The SeedbearersThe Seedbearers by Peter Valentine Timlett

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Review of The Seedbearers by Peter Valentine Timlett
The 1970’s was the heyday of the “sword and sorcery” boom that started a decade earlier with the publication of pulp fantasy adventure writer Robert E. Howard’s Conan stories by Lancer Books.  The popularity of Howard’s newly re-discovered (at least to the young fantasy readers such as myself at the time) coupled with the earlier surge of interest in fantasy spearheaded by the mass market paperback editions of J. R. R. Tolkien’s “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings” published by Ballantine Books lead to a decade where mass market paperback fantasy books could be found almost anywhere, grocery stores, newsstands, and of course book stores.  The general plots of most of these works included barbarian warriors, decadent civilizations, beautiful priestesses and queens, and stirring battle scenes.
The decade of the 70’s saw a spate of new authors who were grounded in the sword and sorcery tradition as exemplified by Howard and other authors such as Fritz Leiber, C. L. Moore and Henry Kuttner.  Among the newer authors who started their careers in this period were Karl Edward Wagner, Charles R. Saunders, and Roland Green.  One of the newer authors to emerge in this period was British writer Peter Valentine Timlett who wrote a trilogy of novels set in the Atlantis of Theosophical literature and legend rather than the Atlantis of Plato’s writings.  The first book in the series is The Seedbearers, published in Britain in 1974 and then in America by Signet paperbacks in 1976.  The book is still fairly easy to find on the usual used book sites, and has its followers.   Several friends who are fans of the genre recommended it to me as an interesting take on the Atlantis myth as well as a stirring adventure.  I recently read it to see what my own take would be on the novel.
The book opens with a brief preface by the author where he mentions that his novel is based on the Atlantis of “certain Mystery Schools of the present-day Western Esoteric Tradition” which is (of course) different from the Atlantis described by Plato in Timaeus.  Just how the two versions differ is not described by Timlett, leaving the reader to search that information out for him or herself.  The novel starts out with some gruesome action, as a young girl is raped on a beach by fifty warriors, and then has her throat slit.  Similar scenes of rape, pillage, cold blooded murder continue in the first few pages, all apparently committed by a victorious army led by a General known as Vardek the Terrible, whose invading army consists of three races or ethnic groups, red-skinned Toltecs (of whom Vardek is the leader), light skinned Akkadians (sort of a mercenary engineer corps for theToltecs), and dark skinned Rmoahals, who are a subservient race to the Toltecs.  The Rmoahals are ferocious fighters who don’t mind engaging in cannibalism and necromancy.  The mixed army has been sent by the weak King Baralda of the Thousand Isles (of which the “twin islands of Ruta and Daiteya” are apparently the capital and the equivalent of our Atlantis) as a “trade expedition” to the nearby mainland of Amaria, but instead of engaging in commerce, Vardek has simply slaughtered all the Amarians whom his army has come in contact with. Character name after character name come in a flash in the first couple of chapters, as Timlett makes a point of introducing everyone who will have a part to play in the novel as quickly as possible.  At the same time he also makes sure that each character pontificates at length the various political, religious and personal agendas that each of them espouse, so that the reader will have little doubt as to where everyone stands in the highly telegraphed ahead of time apocalyptic armageddon coming up later in the novel.  I personally found this style to be quite off putting.  Similar sounding names (Vardek, Baldek, Melachadek,  Naradek, Khamaradek) caused confusion.  I thought the characters lacked complexity.  They were either brutal, misogynistic sadists or noble, idealistic warriors in the service of all that is good, working towards a climactic conflict between good and evil.  Tolkien and C. S. Lewis pull this off, but I prefer a little more ambiguity in my opposing forces.
I also found Timlett’s prose to be overly dramatic and much too verbose in places.  An example comes early in the book, “For a time the people flourished under the ruling principles of the priesthood, but generation followed generation, and the inherent weakness, fed by centuries of inbreeding, caused the breath of evil once more to waft over the land---and the Sacred Clan, the royal family, became weak and ineffective, and the Sun Temple priesthood grew in pride and arrogance.”  Overlooking the fact that this is one sentence with at least seven comas, the “breath of evil waft(ing) over the land” just struck me as over the top. 
This apparently is some folk’s cup of tea, so to speak, but I found the book virtually unreadable, forcing myself to stick with it so as to be able to give an honest review.  I honestly can’t recommend it to anyone that I normally recommend fantasy to, without at least pointing out my many reservations regarding the novel.  If brutal violence with cruel generals and sorcerers is your thing, Karl Edward Wagner did it better and still introduced shades of moral complexity in his character Kane.  If necromancy in your fantasy is of interest, then Clark Ashton Smith also did it much better in his Xothique stories.  If you’re looking for interesting takes on the Atlantis legend, then I can heartily recommend the works of Robert E. Howard in his Kull, Conan and Skull Face stories, Henry Kuttner in his Elak tales, Larry Niven in his “The Magic Goes Away” series, Manly Wade Wellman’s Kardios and also his Hok stories, along with a host of others, but I failed to find many redeeming qualities in this book.  I’m pretty sure that I won’t be going out of my way to read the next two novels in the trilogy, but I’ll list them in an effort for completeness, The Power of the Serpent, and The Twilight of the Serpent.
I’m afraid a one is all I can give here.

View all my reviews

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Review of "Troublesome Young Men: The Rebels Who Brought Churchill to Power and Helped Save England" by Lynne Olson

Troublesome Young Men: The Rebels Who Brought Churchill to Power and Helped Save EnglandTroublesome Young Men: The Rebels Who Brought Churchill to Power and Helped Save England by Lynne Olson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Author Lynne Olson has done an excellent job of telling what the late Paul Harvey used to call "the rest of the story" in this narrative of a group of Tory party Members of Parliament who lead the initial opposition to the appeasement policies of Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain in the years both the years preceding World War II and then the first year of that conflict.  Reading this book brought home to me the fact that Winston Churchill becoming Prime Minister in May, 1940 was by no means a "done deal" right up until the moment that Chamberlain stepped down and Churchill succeeded him.  While the sometime friends (of a sort) and almost always rivals Chamberlain and Churchill are central to the story, the book is actually about those "Troublesome Young Men" of the title who finally brought down Chamberlain, basically without help from Churchill, who refused to work against Chamberlain once he accepted the Admiralty position in the British Cabinet.

Focusing on some of the leaders of this group of outsiders in their own party, such as Harold Macmillan (a future Prime Minister decades later), Harold Nicolson  (remembered now for being the husband of writer Vita Sackville-West), and Ronald Cartwright (brother of romance novelist Barbara Cartwright) Olson tells what I thought was a compelling and interesting story, showing how history sometimes changes on the courage and decisions of a few persistent individuals.  I recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading history, particularly those readers interested in the years leading up to the start of World War II in Europe.

View all my reviews

Friday, July 13, 2012

The Seven Wonders (Roma Sub Rosa, #0)The Seven Wonders by Steven Saylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The last 2 entries in this series left me a little underwhelmed but with this "prequel" set in Gordianus the Finder's youth, I fell back in love with author Saylor's "Roma Sub Rosa" series.  So much so that I'm going to go back and give the last 2 books another try.  Briefly, this latest book is a group of short stories regarding the 18 year old Gordianus and his tutor, the Greek poet Antipater of Sidon ( a real historical figure ) and their grand tour of the ancient Hellenistic world, with an itinerary which includes visiting each of the "Seven Wonders of the Ancient World."   Each of the short stories was previously published independently in the last few years but they read well both alone and in this form where some overall plot threads come together at the end of the book.  I think it would be better to have read some of the previous books in the series, especially Roman Blood before reading this book, but it's not necessary.  I recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical mysteries as well as anyone who is interested in Roman and Hellenistic history.  I'm hoping that Saylor will come back with some more stories set in the decade of Gordianus youth, between the events of this book and those of the aforementioned "Roman Blood."  

View all my reviews

Sunday, June 10, 2012

King Conan: The Scarlet CitadelKing Conan: The Scarlet Citadel by Timothy Truman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Read this in one sitting while at my local book store. Guess I'll have to buy it now that I've read it, huh? Seriously, this is one of my favorite Conan stories and I thought that Dark Horse did a great job of capturing the eerie, Lovecraftian feel of this Robert E. Howard tale of Conan's captivity in a deep dungeon with cavernous openings into a horrific underworld. All involved did a good story I though:
Timothy Truman
Tomas Giorello
José Villarrubia
Cover Artist:
Gerald Parel
I will make a point of adding this one to the collection once the finances are caught up. 5 Stars.

View all my reviews

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Foundation (Foundation, #1)Foundation by Isaac Asimov

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I just re-read this for about the 5th or 6th time, although this was probably the first time I've gone back to this volume in over a decade or even two.  Asimov still holds up for me, though I can't say how much of that is nostalgia.  Still, he's probably not for everyone, a little wordy at times, not much action.  Even so the whole Foundation series was a major great concept when it first came out and I still recommend it to anyone who loves science fiction, especially "classic" science fiction.  This book is a collection of 5 short stories, in chronological order, concerning the establishment of the "First Foundation" and how it survived and thrived on the outer edges of the galaxy as the original Galactic Empire began to wane and decline.  Asimov's heroes/protagonists are usually men (and sometimes women, though not in this book) of thought rather than action, but they outwit (or sometimes simply outwait) their antagonists.  I recommend it to any science fiction fan who hasn't ever read, if just to see what the fuss was about.  If you are a history fan like me as well, then that helps with the enjoyment of Asimov's "Future History."  Still 5 stars as far as I'm concerned.

View all my reviews

Sunday, January 22, 2012

HOPE’s future may be more dire  |

Woke up to read this depressing news this morning. The HOPE scholarship was one of the best things Georgia had going for it at one time. If the state can't maintain it I think the future economic and educational outlook for the Peach State is bleak...

HOPE’s future may be more dire